Rother District Council





Minutes of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee meeting held at the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Bexhill-on-Sea on Wednesday 24 May 2023 at 8:10pm.

Committee Members present: Councillors A.E. Biggs (Substitute), Mrs V. Cook (exofficio), B.J. Coupar, G.R.M. Delany, K.M. Field, Mrs E.M. Kirby-Green, R.A. McCourt, S.B. McGurk, A. Rathbone Ariel, J. Stanger, R.B. Thomas and H.L. Timpe.

Advisory Officers in attendance: Chief Executive, Deputy Chief Executive, Director – Place and Climate Change, Democratic Services Manager and Democratic Services Officer.

Also Present: 7 members of the public in the Council Chamber.

LG23/1. APOLOGIES AND SUBSTITUTES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Hacking and Winter.

It was noted that Councillor Biggs was present as a substitute for Councillor Hacking.

LG23/2. **ELECTION OF CHAIR**

RESOLVED: That Councillor R.B. Thomas be elected Chair of the Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

LG23/3. **ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR**

RESOLVED: That Councillor J. Stanger be elected Vice-Chair of the Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

LG23/4. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE GENERAL LICENSING PANEL AND TAXI AND PRIVATE HIRE LICENSING PANEL RESOLVED: That:

1) the following Members be appointed to serve on the General Licensing Panel pool: Councillors B.J. Coupar, G.R.M. Delany, K.M. Field, L. Hacking, Mrs E.M. Kirby-Green, R.A. McCourt, S.B. McGurk, A. Rathbone Ariel, J. Stanger, R.B. Thomas, H.L. Timpe and C.J. Winter;

- 2) the following Members be appointed to serve on the Taxi and Private Hire Licensing Panel pool: Councillors B.J. Coupar, G.R.M. Delany, K.M. Field, L. Hacking, Mrs E.M. Kirby-Green, R.A. McCourt, S.B. McGurk, A. Rathbone Ariel, J. Stanger, R.B. Thomas, H.L. Timpe and C.J. Winter;
- 3) Members be appointed to the respective panels other than on a political basis nem con (no member objecting); and
- 4) an audit of Member's potential interests be carried out.

CHAIR

The meeting closed at 8:17pm.